Seminar by Prof. Lee Swindlehurst

Prof. A. Lee Swindlehurst, from the University of California in Irvine, will give a lecture titled "Physical Layer Techniques for Enhancing Wireless Security". It will take place on June 17th, 2010, at Sala de Graus, from 11:30h to 12:30h.


Abstract: This talk presents several ideas for using beamforming and MIMO techniques to increase the secrecy of wireless communications. We will discuss various aspects of the problem, including the standard MIMO wiretap channel, assumptions about prior information available about the eavesdropper, QoS-constrained approaches when no information about the eavesdropper is present, the advantages of cooperation in multiuser networks, and we will formulate a game theoretic framework in which to address situations where an adversary has the choice between eavesdropping on or jamming the desired communications link. 



A. LEE SWINDLEHURST received the B.S., summa cum laude, and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, in 1985 and 1986, respectively, and the PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1991. From 1986-1990, he was employed at ESL, Inc., of Sunnyvale, CA, where he was involved in the design of algorithms and architectures for several radar and sonar signal processing systems. He was on the faculty of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Brigham Young University from 1990-2007, where he was a Full Professor and served as Department Chair from 2003-2006. During 1996-1997, he held a joint appointment as a visiting scholar at both Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden, and at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden. From 2006-07, he was on leave working as Vice President of Research for ArrayComm LLC in San Jose, California. He is currently a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of California at Irvine.

Dr. Swindlehurst is a Fellow of the IEEE, and a past Secretary of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He is currently serving as Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Signal Processing, as a member of the Editorial Boards for the EURASIP Journal on Wireless Communications and Networking and the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, and is a past Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing. He is a recipient of several paper awards: the 2000 IEEE W. R. G. Baker Prize Paper Award, the IEEE Signal Processing Society’s Best Paper Award in 2006 and 2009, the 2006 IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize in the Field of Communication Theory and is co-author of a paper that received the IEEE Signal Processing Society Young Author Best Paper Award in 2001.